• Tony Igele

Obaseki Assigns Portfolios to Commissioners

Obaseki Assigns portfolios to commissioners

Edo State Holds First EXCO Meeting

Tony Igele

The recently appointed commissioners to serve in the administration of Mr. Godwin Obaseki of Edo State have been assigned to various ministries in the state.

At the first Executive Council meeting (EXCO) held by the Obaseki-led Edo government, after a two-day retreat to bring the appointees up to speed with the administration, the commissioners were formally told the ministries under which they will serve.

While some commissioners were appointed to already existing ministries, others were assigned to ministries that were reorganised and renamed by the present administration.

On the whole, the Governor who is the Chairman in Conncil, during the meeting, announced 18 ministries and placed one commissioner to lead the affairs of each of them.

The ministries include: 1. Energy and Water Resources to be handled by Yekini Idaiye

2. Communication and Orientation led by Paul Ohonbamu

3. Science and technology, Emmanuel Agbale;

4. Wealth Creation, Cooperatives and Employment, Emmanuel Usoh

5. Women Affairs and Social Development, Magdalene Ohenhen

6. Infrastructure, Osahon Amiolemen

7. Minerals, Oil and Gas, Joseph Ughioke

8. Youth and Special Duties, Mika Amanokha

9. Finance, Osagie Inegbedion

10. Budget, Hajia Maryam Abubakar

11. Physical Planning and Urban Development, Edorodion Oye Erimona

12. Justice, Professor Yinka Omorogbe

13. Arts, Culture and Diaspora, Osaze Osemwegie-Ero

14. Agriculture and Natural Resources, Monday Osaigbovo

15. Education, Dr. Chirstopher I. Adesotu

16. Environment and Sustainability, Hon. Reginald Okun

17. Health, Dr. David Osifo

18. Local Government and Community Affairs, Jimoh Ijegbai

The Chairman-in-Council also announced that Forestry and Sports had been made full commissions, he noted the scrapping the Ministry of Lands and noted that housing will now be handled by Property Development Authority.

While stating that all the executive orders and gazettes necessary to show the new structure will be immediately released and that the terms of reference of all council members had been finalized, he ordered all commissioners to resume at their ministries on Thursday, July 13, 2017.

The Chairman-in-Council called for suggestions on the timing and frequency of State Executive Council meetings and a consensus was reached that for the first quarter from the first meeting, it should hold every week, on Wednesdays by 10.00am.

In his comments at the meeting, the Secretary to the State Government, Mr. Osarodion Ogie, noted that during EXCO meetings, the governor should always be referred to as the Chairman –in-Council and not His Excellency.

He added that all documents and issues relating to the meeting are to be treated with strict confidentiality, adding that all such documents will be returned to the state upon expiration of the tenure of appointees.

The Head-of-Service in her submission urged EXCO members to ensure that they return to their various ministries after meetings and discuss the decisions reached with their permanent secretaries in order to get their support in ensuring the achievement of the objectives of government.

The Chief-of-Staff who also spoke at the meeting called on appointees to ensure they pay good attention to areas covered by donor agencies in their ministries, stressing that the donors account for about 15 per cent of the annual budget of the state and must therefore be taken seriously.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts