• Tony Igele

Edo Investigates N280m Memo for First School Leaving Certificate Examination

Edo State government says it has commenced investigation into memo for the approval of N280 million for the conduct of last Saturday First School Leaving Certificate examination in the state.

Governor Godwin Obaseki, who made the disclosure at the swearing ceremony of 12 permanent secretaries at Government House, said the memo was sent to him for approval, saying the examination exercise was however conducted with the sum of N30 million.

According to Obaseki, investigation has commenced into a memo that was sent to me to approve the sum of N280 million for an exercise that was eventually carried out for N30 million.

He however lamented that with that amount of haemorrhage no system could survive, and assured that the civil service would be institutionalised for his administration to experience economic growth and fulfil the promises made to Edo people.

He opined, “Without institutionalising the civil service, you can’t achieve growth. People will come and go but institutions will remain.

“It is important we build institutions because without a strong institution like the civil service, our administration will not deliver quality services to the people of Edo State. We promise to do all within our powers to return professionalism to the state civil service for the administration to achieve her goals.”

The governor, who said any government official that engaged in acts of corruption would be dismissed and tried in court, stressed that his administration had zero tolerance for corruption.

He added that the new permanent secretaries (seven males and five females) were selected strictly on merit after passing an examination conducted by the Administrative College of Nigeria(ASCON), and they are: Asogun Izielen, Aziegbemhin Priscillia Emosioluame, Idugboe Helen Adesuwa, Obahiagbon Ruth Enoma, Uhunmwangho Samuel Obazee.

Others are Abode Christopher Oikhena, Bazuaye Itohan Emma, Iyekekpolor Michael, Aigbirio Samuel, Juwobor Inih-Ivibodohu Dennis Saylor, Olatunji Juliana Idawhekpei and Igberaese George.

Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts